What are New Hampshire’s marijuana laws?October 1, 2019 8:24 am Leave your thoughts
Understanding New Hampshire’s marijuana laws is important not just for users, but also for those who don’t use. Of course, in 2017, New Hampshire decriminalized possession of a small amount of marijuana. Now more than ever a clear understanding of the law allows us all to live our lives respectfully and not intrude on those around us. While this article covers the basics, please consult your attorney to ensure you understand how these laws apply to you.
Possession of marijuana is basically the intentional having of marijuana.
- Adults 18 or older in possession of less than 3/4 of an ounce of marijuana may be fined up to $100, however, fines rise for third and fourth offenses.
- People aged 21 and older will be assessed the same fines if they are in possession of a personal use amount of items like edibles and drinks.
- If you’re found to be in possession of more than 3/4 of an ounce of marijuana this is a misdemeanor. You could face up to a year in prison and be fined up to $350.
Hash and Concentrates
According to drugs.com, “hashish is a potent form of cannabis (marijuana) produced by collecting and compressing trichomes, the most potent material from cannabis plants.”
Persons 18 and older may be fined $100 (more for third and fourth offenses) if they possess less than 5 grams of hash. Those in possession of 5 or more grams of hash may be imprisoned for up to a year and fined $350.
Paraphernalia includes anything you might need to engage in marijuana usage. This means ranch clips, bongs, pipes, etc.
Selling or possessing paraphernalia can result in a fine of up to $2,000 and up to a year in prison.
Getting Your Record Clean
If you already have a marijuana conviction on your record, you may very well be able to get it taken off.
Have legal questions? Get in touch with our team of New Hampshire criminal lawyers for answers.
This post was written by Cohen and Winters