Reckless OperationMarch 13, 2013 9:50 pm
Reckless Driving Lawyers
New Hampshire motor vehicle law classifies reckless operation as a violation. This means, it is not a criminal charge. But DMV considers it a “major motor vehicle” violation, for habitual offender purposes. RSA 265:79 defines this charge. The statute lists various conduct that could lead to a reckless driving charge, but the most common is driving in a way the shows the driver has caused the lives or safety of the public to be endangered.
The penalty for this charge depends on whether the driver has a prior conviction for this violation. A first offense is punishable by a fine of no less than $500 and no more than $1,000 and a loss of license for a minimum of 60 days. A second offense is punishable by a fine of no less than $750 and no more than $1,000 as well as a loss of license for between 60 days and one year.
Did you know that if you drive over 100 miles per hour over the posted speed limit, you risk a reckless driving charge? There are many collateral consequences that accompany a reckless operation charge as well. You could be required to get an SR-22, pay a restoration fee, and face increased insurance rates. Do not face reckless operation charges by yourself! You need an experienced attorney to help you navigate through a charge like this.
If the police arrested you for a driving charge such as this, move swiftly. Contact the New Hampshire driving defense lawyers of Cohen & Winters for a free consultation.
This post was written by cohenwinters