Defense Attorneys in New Hampshire
It is a violation for someone under the age of 21 to possess liquor or alcohol in New Hampshire. RSA 179:10 provides that someone convicted of a first offense is fined a minimum of $300 and a subsequent conviction carries a minimum fine of $600. The maximum fine for a violation level offense is $1,000.
If the offender is under 21 the DMV may also suspend his/her driving privileges for any alcohol or drug related conviction even if a car was not involved.
Possession may include internal possession. This means that if a person has alcohol in his body he can be arrested for underage drinking even if he does not otherwise possess any alcohol at all.
The criminal defense lawyers of Cohen & Winters defend clients under 21 who’ve been charged with alcohol possession. If you’ve been charged, don’t wait — contact us today to discuss your case in a free consultation.