DUI Lawyers Lebanon NH
Driving under influence offense can occur in two ways:
- if the driver is operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or any drug or substance that alters perception.
- If the driver’s blood alcohol is .08 BAC of greater for those over the age of 21.
Attorneys Cohen & Winters are experienced DUI lawyers in Lebanon NH
How long do you lose your license for a DUI in New Hampshire?
Following a DUI first offense conviction, a driver’s license is revoked for at least 9 months. The court can potentially extend that period further, but not for more than 2 years. Under certain circumstances New Hampshire law permits petitions to expunge the record of an arrest and a conviction in DUI cases.
If this is your first offense DUI
A first-time offense in New Hampshire is treated as a Class B misdemeanor, which includes a fine of at least $500, excluding penalty assessment for a total fine of $620. Besides that, one’s license gets suspended for nine months to two years, and there’s a mandatory alcohol class required. A DUI then stays on one’s record for ten years.
Is drunk driving a felony in New Hampshire?
The first three DUIs are usually considered misdemeanors in New Hampshire. But if there’d been more than three DUI convictions within a span of ten years, the next offense will be a felony.
What happens if you refuse a breathalyzer in NH?
If you refuse a breathalyzer test, you will be taken to a police station to undergo a rigorous breathalyzer testing. If you refuse a test there as well, or if it shows .08 BAC or higher, the DMV will additionally suspend your license.
Contact a Lawyer Today
Attorneys Cohen & Winters will help protect your rights during a crisis, and make sure you get the minimal fines and punishment. To speak with our dui lawyers in Lebanon NH Contact Us Today for a Free Case Evaluation. Call us at (603) 836-8453.