DUI Lawyers Dover NH
DUI Lawyers in Dover New Hampshire (NH)
Driving under the influence (DUI) is the offense of driving, operating, or being in control of a vehicle while impaired by alcohol or other drugs (including recreational drugs and those prescribed by physicians), to a level that renders the driver incapable of operating a motor vehicle safely. In New Hampshire law, both DUI and DWI are the same thing, and they mean driving under influence of intoxicating substances.
Is drunk driving considered a felony in NH?
The first three DWI charges are considered misdemeanors. But more than that in a span of 10 years will be a felony.
Driving under influence offense can occur in two ways:
- if the driver is operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or any drug or substance that alters perception.
If the driver’s blood alcohol is .08 BAC of greater for those over the age of 21.
If this is your first offense DUI
A first-time offense in New Hampshire is treated as a Class B misdemeanor, which includes a fine of at least $500, excluding penalty assessment for a total fine of $620. Besides that, one’s license gets suspended for nine months to two years, and there’s a mandatory alcohol class required. A DUI then stays on one’s record for ten years.
Penalties for DWI In Dover New Hampshire
The mandatory penalties for DWI-1st offense in New Hampshire are a minimum fine of $500.00, and maximum of $1200.00, with additional 20-24% in penalty assessment. There is also a mandatory minimum license loss of 9 months, which may be reduced to as little as ninety days based on conditions. Maximum license loss would be two years.
There are four potential charges regarding drunk driving in NH
- Class B misdemeanor
- Class A misdemeanor Aggravated DWI
- Class B felony aggravated DWI
What happens if you refuse a breathalyzer in NH?
If you refuse a breathalyzer test, you will be taken to a police station to undergo a rigorous breathalyzer testing. If you refuse a test there as well, or if it shows .08 BAC or higher, the DMV will additionally suspend your license.
Can a DUI get expunged in New Hampshire?
A DUI conviction can make it very hard for a person to find a job, get a loan in a bank, or sign a lease. But fortunately, there are ways to expunge that conviction and clear it off your criminal record.
Contact a Lawyer Today
To speak with our dui lawyers in Dover today. Contact Cohen & Winters. Call us at (603) 836-8453