Car Accident Lawyers Dover NH
Car Accident Lawyers in Dover New Hampshire (NH)
Unfortunately, car accidents aren’t a rare occurrence. They happen every day and can affect one’s life in a big way. It can cause financial loss, emotional disturbance, cancelled plans, and more. There’s an overwhelming amount of paperwork involved, both with a medical and vehicle insurance companies, and the police department. All that on top of recovering from injuries.
Is NH a no-fault state for car accidents?
Even though more and more states are moving to a no-fault system for car accidents, New Hampshire is not one of them. It still matters to the foundation of the legal procedures, to determine who was responsible for the accident. Does declaring a non-fault claim affect my insurance? Unfortunately, yes it does. In many cases, your premiums will go up after you’ve declared a non-fault claim to your insurance provider. To prove you are not at fault in a car accident, you will need to show sufficient evidence that another party was at fault. This evidence may include the police report, eyewitness statements, photos or videos of the scene, and traffic camera footage
Who is Responsible for Damages in a Car Accident?
One of the following three main parties can be sued for compensation of damages from car accidents:
- Reckless and Negligent Drivers who don’t follow safety laws who do things like speeding, running red lights, or driving while texting or otherwise distracted can be held accountable for this type of conduct if their actions leads to an accident.
- Companies or Organizations can be accountable for damages in many different scenarios. If the car crash was caused by a driver who was on duty for a company or an organization, that employer can be held responsible for negligence in hiring and training drivers, or for faulty auto equipment. Additionally, governments can be held responsible for dangerous driving conditions for example potholes or confusing or incorrect street signs that causes accidents.
- Car Manufacturers — If an accident is caused by a design defect of a car, the manufacturer can be held responsible for the failed parts if that led to an accident.
When do you have to report an accident in New Hampshire?
According to the rules, any motor vehicle accident that caused death, an injury, or combined vehicle damage in more than $1,000.00 must be reported to the New Hampshire DMV within 15 days after the accident took place.
Make sure you file a claim with your insurance company right away. But before you do that, we recommend consulting your attorney. Once you file a claim, the insurance company representing the other driver can request more details about the accident.
Contact us today
Dealing with the aftermath of a car accident can be too much to handle all at once. Cohen & Winters attorneys can take some of that weight off your shoulders.
If you were in a car accident and need legal assistance, call us for a free consultation (603) 836-8453. To speak with our car accident lawyers in Dover NH.
Contact Us Today for a Free Case Evaluation.